Teaching–First thoughts

I’m kind of surprised how much I like working with younger kids.

My Seedbed (the lowest level English speakers we have @ Chung Dahm)  are really fantastic.  They really have  so much energy and can  find such joy in the little things.

When I hand back an A+ the reactions range from a beaming smile to a sort of seated dance of joy.  At some point the smart ones start to expect success and it becomes routine for them but at the earliest level it’s really enjoyable.

Also at the entry level they’re still learning phonics so you can see really impressive growth week to week as they’re learning how to make some of the more complicated sounds.  (I only have Seedbed 2 level courses so they know the major sounds)  The upshot of this is that progress is really evident in their speaking because sounds like Sh and Ch go from an indescribable mess  to a pretty clear version of what SH and Ch sound like.

Another thing I like about teaching the younger kids is our classes only go for a short time.   Students see a foreign teacher for 40-45 minutes  and then a bilingual korean teacher for 40-45 minutes.  Higher level language courses are known to get up to 90 minutes for just say speaking or writing–so that’s really welcome as the mind can only absorb what the butt can endure.

About Andrew Martin
Hello, I'm a 31 year old educator. I've spent a few years abroad before coming back to the states this year. I'm a man of many interests, and I use seoulbound as my place for talking about them.

One Response to Teaching–First thoughts

  1. Jami says:

    I love the seedbed kids, but at my school that class is the longest, like almost 2 hours! EEK, that’s just too long for such tiny little ones! But my other levels are all 40 minutes long. My favorite part is when you get the blank stare as you ask them if they understand (obvously they don’t) and when you explain and they get it, I love that OHHHHH! light-bulb look. That’s my favorite. Glad you are liking everything!

Leave a Reply

