How to watch TV in Korea

Okay, so I haven’t blogged in a really, really long time.  Consider this post zero in my blog.

It’ll now be less about cultural exchange and more about whatever’s interesting me at the time.

So since I’ve been over here I’ve actually developed a taste for television that I had let grow dormant in the states.  Maybe there’s something bad to be said about letting international travel teach me to be a different kind of couch potato.  A topic for another time.

When I say I like to watch tv, I don’t mean watching television programs on my computer while I’m hunched over an uncomfortable chair.  That just won’t do.

First up get a comfortable chair or a couch.  Secondly get a big screen tv.  If you’re going to be here two years or more spending some of your first paycheck money on getting a good screen to watch it on and a place to sit down is money well spent.

Then you can hook up your computer either directly to your tv or network it through some kind of box.  Assuming you have an HDMI out plugging it into your tv should be pretty trivial.     I push my tv to my Playstation 3 and watch from there.

From here it’s easy to end up with a TV setup that’s better than the cable you had at home.  Just download what you want to watch and bam all the shows you want none of the commercials.

As for what I watch, it’s mostly just HBO

Game of Thrones–I love the books so needless to say this is awesome.

Boardwalk Empire–The first season of this period crime drama was really amazing.

Mythbusters–They blow shit up.

True Blood–Can’t wait for season four to start of this show, as usual they dropped the bomb at the end of season three.

Mad Men–Parts of this show make me kind of uncomfortable but in a good way.

About Andrew Martin
Hello, I'm a 31 year old educator. I've spent a few years abroad before coming back to the states this year. I'm a man of many interests, and I use seoulbound as my place for talking about them.

Leave a Reply

