Cooking and the things I can’t live without

In the past year I’ve found myself making more food from home.   One of the most invaluable tools for this, being a Westerner living in Korea, is a Costco card.  Also knowing  where to find Red Door and the Foreign food market in Itaewon are very helpful.

Bread, man cannot live on bread alone.  Especially not the tasteless kind of white bread that is all most Koreans appear to have ever known.   I really love the whole wheat bread I get from Costco as a base.   I recently discovered a small bakery in Noksapyeong that has some pretty delicious rye.   What I really like about these is how much they fill out a sandwich, or even just toast which I have most days with breakfast.

Rice–Now this I have no problem finding in the Korean supermarkets of course.  One thing that I’ve noticed is that it really makes a world of difference to get good rice that isn’t the same old same old kind of rice that I get everywhere.  Some brown rice, basmati or Jasmine is definitely worth paying the extra penny on since after any length of time in Korea y0u’ll start to get tired of the stock white rice.

Cheese–This one took me a while to realize how much I missed it but cheeeses make for so many interesting things you can do with a lot of the same foods.   If you’re tired of the same old thing, just put some cheeses into it and it’ll taste a lot better.    Noodles and rice are especially improved by the addition of cheeses.

Chocolate–Now it’s true I can get what I need here at a convenient store, even a grocery store.  But my chocolate of choice are found in the variety packs at Costco 20+ candybars of different flavors.  Maybe one or two of them aren’t my favorite but it’s nice to just always have something sweet at home.

Ground Beef–I think beef is the easiest to put in a mix with other things.   I get a bunch of ground beef fairly regularly and it makes good hamburgers and mixes with rice or noodles. Last year I didn’t cook for myself enough to buy meat but since Poly Hours are longer I’ve found that cooking something up sometimes is a real joy, and I’m ready to do other things more quickly than when I was going out  al the time.

Beer–Not Korean beer.   I just can’t stand the taste of Cass, Max and Hite.  I do however like some of the stock foreign beers.  Heineken, Asashi, and Hoegaarden will all do well enough.  I’ve really developed a taste for Gerrman beers available at my local Homeplus.  Recently I’ve even found a few good microbreweries not that far from where I live.   These guys have some really spectacular beer, at least by Korean standards.

About Andrew Martin
Hello, I'm a 31 year old educator. I've spent a few years abroad before coming back to the states this year. I'm a man of many interests, and I use seoulbound as my place for talking about them.

Leave a Reply

